A bad experience on my Egg

Last night I had a bad experience on my Big Green Egg.

BGE and Misc 040

 

Not, I screwed up the food or I tried something new and it didn’t work like I expected it to.

The Egg itself didn’t work and it screwed up dinner.

It has finally gotten warm enough and is staying light long enough that I decided to make pizza for the first time this year.  I’ve gotten really good at pizza on my Egg and I’m quite proud of what I can do with it.

Pizza Success 038

 

I like to run the Egg at 650° F for pizza.  That lets me cook them quickly with a thin crispy bottom crust and a nicely browned, chewy upper crust.

Last night I had a hard time getting the Egg to even 600° F and when I opened it to put the pizzas in, I could barely hold it at 550° F.

That screwed everything up.  By the time the top was done, the bottom was burned.  It just didn’t work right.  I fumbled my way through the first two pizzas and finally got something edible the third time.

Last night was chilly, about 45° F, but I don’t think that could have made any difference.  I’ve cooked on it on cold days before and never had a problem hitting my desired temperature.

I thought maybe I had let too much ash build up in the bottom of the Egg and it was blocking my air flow.  I cleaned the ash dump this morning and only got a scoop and a half out. So that couldn’t have been the problem.

I wonder if my charcoal was damp.  This winter has been so nasty I haven’t been grilling much since Thanksgiving. I’ve been using one bag of charcoal the last three months. I keep in the laundry room.  Maybe the humidity from the washer and dryer made it damp so it doesn’t burn as hot.

I’m going out for fresh charcoal today.  I’ll try it again tomorrow.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A bad experience on my Egg

  1. frugoal says:

    Keep us updated!

  2. fishnewton says:

    Hot fires are prevented by lack of air and/or wood(or charcoal) with a high moisture content. Check fresh charcoal and look for your air holes in your firebox to have any ash in them. The key factor here is that the egg doesn’t make hot fire, the fuel(charcoal) and air flow do. Good Luck!

  3. fzinger says:

    New charcoal solved the problem. Given how cold and dry this winter was, I’m surprised ambient moisture was enough to spoil my charcoal. Live and learn.

    https://2ndhandideas.wordpress.com/2014/03/11/big-green-egg-is-back-in-business/

Leave a Reply

