Pretzel buns

Having perfected my soft German pretzel recipe, I started wondering what else I could do with these.

Today I tried to find out.  After five hours, I came out of the kitchen with this.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 063

That’s 85/15 ground chuck from the new butcher down the street, artisanal bacon from the same butcher and Swiss cheese on a home made pretzel bun.

Not bad, if I say so myself.

The Recipe

Start with my soft pretzel recipe.  The only difference between pretzels and buns is how you form them, so follow the pretzel recipe up to point where you let the dough double.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 040

Instead of dividing the dough into 12 pieces, flatten it into a rough rectangle

Pretzel buns and tuffels 041

and divide it into 8 equal pieces.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 042

Form each piece into a ball.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 044

Using a lame, razor or very, very sharp knife, cut a cross into the top of each bun.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 046

Cover with a towel and let rest for 1 hour.  Dough will increase about 30% in volume and the surface will dry out slightly.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 052

Dip the buns in a hot lye solution.  Follow the instructions in my pretzel recipe and make sure you follow the safety procedures.  Hot lye can ruin your day.

After the lye bath, sprinkle the buns generously with kosher salt.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 054

Bake at 400° F for 22 to 25 minutes.  The buns should be a deep, mahogany brown.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 057

To make my burgers, I took 85/15 ground chuck and added 1 tsp of salt, 2 tsp of freshly ground black pepper and a TBS of fish sauce. The fish sauce boosts the “umami”, that savory, meaty, taste of the hamburgers.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 058

After the burger patties are formed, it’s a quick 6 minute trip to my griddle and then time to eat.

Pretzel buns and tuffels 063

The one thing I’ll do differently next time is make the patties and buns thinner and wider.  This burger was great, but too tall to eat easily.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

