A Christmas gift to myself

I splurged after Christmas and bought my self something I’ve been wanting for a long time.

Knives and ribs 048

 

This is a Victorinox 8″ Swiss Army Fibrox Chef’s Knife.  It’s been #1 in Cook’s Illustrated’s chef’s knife review pretty much every time for the last 20 years.  At $35 on Amazon, it’s one quarter the price of typical competitors and one tenth the price of some knives.

For years, I’ve been getting by with the chef’s knife that came with a cheap knife set my mother gave me.  That was probably 20 years ago, just after I started cooking.

Knives and ribs 049

 

I’ve wanted to replace it for years.  It’s a decent knife but it’s a hard steel so it takes a lot of stroking to keep it sharp.  Also, at 10″ long, it’s awkward for many finer tasks like mincing garlic.  Still it was always “Good enough” so I held onto it.

This year for Christmas, I got a $50 Amazon gift certificate.  I used that as an excuse to finally upgrade my knife.  The knife, 2 pounds of food grade lye (I’ll save that story for another post) and shipping ate up the 50 bucks.

lye

I couldn’t be happier with the knife.  It’s amazing how easy it makes any job.  I never realized how much difference the shape of the handle, the width and length of the blade and the type of steel could make.

Whether it’s cutting up racks of ribs,

Knives and ribs 046

or dicing onions, garlic and ginger for a marinade

Knives and ribs 037

this knife is a joy.

I can’t believe I didn’t do this years ago. Around the rest of the house, I’m always a “buy the best tool you can afford” kind of guy. Even in the kitchen, I bought a lot of really nice, high quality gear.

But I held onto that old chef’s knife for a couple of decades longer than I should have.

Must have been because Mom gave it too me.

 

 

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

