Thanksgiving Recipes – The Sweet Potatoes

In my Thanksgiving Countdown, there was one other thing I said I hate. Marshmallow smothered sweet potatoes.  Of course, everyone expects sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving, so I had to come up with a substitute. Fortunately, I knew exactly what to do.

Over the summer I’d taken a Cooking with Bourbon class at LivingSocial in DC. The class was taught by chef Matt Finarelli. Chef Finarelli taught us how to prepare a fantastic Bourbon Maple Glazed Sweet Potato recipe. That dish is what got me thinking about hosting Thanksgiving this year.

Thanksgiving 020

 

The maple syrup gives the sweet potatoes a sugary rush, while the bourbon makes them more adult than the marshmallow covered kind.

Besides, bourbon beats marshmallows every time.

Again, things were flying in the kitchen by the time I started these, so I didn’t take many photos.

Recipe – Serves 15 or more

6 sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 2 inch cubes
vegetable oil
Kosher salt and black pepper to taste
8 TBS maple syrup
1 1/2 tsp dark brown sugar
1 TBS espresso or very strong coffee
8 TBS bourbon
3 TBS butter
6 tsp hazelnuts, coarsely chopped

Pre-heat oven to 425° F.

Thanksgiving 004

On a large, rimmed baking sheet, toss sweet potatoes and oil to lightly coat. Season with salt and pepper. Spread evenly across sheet.

Roast sweet potatoes until tender, but not soft. About 30 minutes.

While sweet potatoes are roasting, combine maple syrup, brown sugar, espresso, bourbon and butter in a small sauce pan. Bring to a simmer over medium high heat and simmer until thickened.

Remove sweet potatoes from oven. Pour glaze over sweet potatoes and toss to coat.

Return sweet potatoes to oven and cook another 5 minutes to set glaze. Be careful not to burn the glaze. There’s a lot of sugar in there, so burning it would make a terrible mess.

Transfer sweet potatoes to serving bowl and sprinkle with hazelnuts.

Serve.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

