Thanksgiving Recipes – The Stuffing

I ran out of steam yesterday before I finished posting my Thanksgiving recipes.  I’ll fix that today.

Thanksgiving 027

For the stuffing I made a classic bread stuffing (subscription required). Since I was smoke-roasting the turkey, I baked the stuffing in the oven.  Even if I’d roasted the turkey indoors, I’d have probably baked the stuffing separately.  Cooking it in the bird increases the cooking time  and increases the risk of drying out the meat.

I never ate stuffing as a kid. Now I love it and am making up for lost time. Needless to say, my low carb diet took a blow this week.

BTW, I never ate gravy as a kid either. Oh, how far I’ve come.

Recipe – Serves many. We had 10 people at our table and we barely dented it

12 TBS unsalted butter
4 ribs celery, diced
2 medium onions, diced
1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves, minced
3 TBS fresh sage, minced
3 TBS fresh thyme, minced
1 TBS fresh marjoram, minced
3 lbs white sandwich bread, cut into 1/2 inch cubed and dried thoroughly
5 cups chicken stock
4 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 tsp salt
2 tsp fresh ground black pepper

Place oven rack in center position. Pre-heat oven to 400° F.

Dice the celery and the onions

Thanksgiving Prep 044

Mince the herbs.  The recipe calls for fresh parsley, sage, thyme and marjoram. I still had sage and marjoram in my herb garden. I also got fresh parsley and thyme at the store. The fresh herbs greatly enhance the stuffing. Use them if you can get them. Otherwise, you can substitute dried for fresh. Use 1 tsp dried for each TBS.

Thanksgiving Prep 045

 

Melt butter over medium high heat. Add celery and onion. Saute, stirring occasionally, until celery is softened, about 10 minutes. Stir in herbs and cook 1 minute longer.

Thanksgiving Prep 048

Transfer mixture to a very large mixing bowl.

Add dried bread cubes, stock, eggs, salt and pepper.  Mix gently by hand, taking care not to crush the bread cubes.

Spray a 15″ x 10″ baking dish with cooking spray. Spread mixture evenly across pan.

Cover pan with foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake until golden, about 30 more minutes.

Thanksgiving Prep 049

Serve

 

 

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Recipes – The Stuffing

  1. 3mart.com.au says:

    I like this article, I have reblogged this one, thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

