Thanksgiving Recipes – Almond Sesame Ginger Green Beans

I mentioned in my Thanksgiving Countdown that I hate green bean casserole. Every year at Thanksgiving and Christmas, someone gloops a can of mushroom soup over some green beans, sprinkles on some canned onion rings and bakes the awful mess until it’s a sad pale green mush.

Since I was cooking, I upgraded the green beans with this recipe featuring almonds and garlic, with an Asian flare.

Thanksgiving 006

This is the only dish for which I didn’t complete most of the prep work before starting cooking. Things were hectic by the time I started the beans, so this is the only photo.

Sorry

Recipe – Serves 12 to 15

2 lb green beans, trimmed
1 TBS olive oil
2 TBS sesame oil
2 TBS sesame seeds
1 tsp fresh ginger root, minced
1 TBS garlic, minced
1/2 cup slivered almonds
1 TBS soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste
1 squeeze fresh lemon juice

Steam the green beans until just tender. Do not over cook.  I ended up boiling mine, because I was using the lower half of my steamer for another dish. Bad move. The beans came out a bit on the limp side.

While beans are steaming, heat olive oil and 1 TBS of sesame oil over medium high in a large skillet. Add sesame seeds, ginger, garlic and almonds. Cook until ginger and garlic are just slightly softened.

Drain green beans and toss with sesame seeds, garlic, ginger and almonds. Add reserved TBS of sesame oil, soy sauce, salt and pepper to taste. Toss well.  Squeeze half a lemon over dish.

Serve.

 

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Recipes – Almond Sesame Ginger Green Beans

  1. 3mart.com.au says:

    I like this article, I have reblogged this one, thanks for posting

Leave a Reply

