My Best Wings Ever

These are easily the most beautiful and the tastiest wings I’ve ever made.

Wings 007

I rubbed them with allspice, chili powder, salt and pepper and cooked them for 25 minutes over indirect heat on my Big Green Egg. Then I tossed them in a sweet and sticky Hoisin, Sriracha,  soy sauce glaze. Finally, it was back on the grill to mark them off, add a little garnish and they were ready to serve.

The only thing I would do differently next time it to kick the heat up a couple of notches.  These were very good, but they could have been more aggressive.

I’m thinking I’ll add a teaspoon of cayenne to the rub and maybe more Sriracha to the glaze.

The Recipe

This is a two part recipe. First, rub the wings and cook them over indirect heat. Second, hit them with the glaze and grill them direct to caramelize the sauce a bit and give them some nice grill marks.

The result is moist, tender, sweet, hot, sticky and flavorful.

The Sauce

2 tsp Sesame Seed Oil
2 TBS Garlic, minced
3 TBS Fresh Ginger, minced
1/4 cup Dark Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Soy Sauce
2 TBS Hoisin Sauce
2 TBS Srarachia

Heat a small sauce pan over medium high heat.  Add sesame seed oil, garlic and ginger.  Saute for about 60 seconds. Just long enough for the garlic and ginger to start releasing their flavor. Do not burn the garlic or ginger.

Add remaining ingredients.  Reduce heat to low and let simmer till slightly thickened. About 15 minutes.

Set aside.

The Wings

1/2 tsp Allspice
2 TBS Chili Powder
1 TBS Dark Brown Sugar
1 tsp Ground Black Pepper
1 tsp Sea Salt
12 Chicken Wings, cut into pieces, tips reserved for stock
2 Green Onions, cut into thinly sliced rounds
1 tsp Toasted Sesame Seeds

Set up grill for indirect cooking and pre-heat to high. On my Big Green Egg, 600° F works nicely. On the Egg, I don’t bother with a separate fire zone. I just put the wings around the edge of the Egg, while the fire burns in the center.

Mix the ingredients for the dry rub.  Toss wings in dry rub and work the rub into the skin.

Place the wings on the indirect side of the grill and cook for about 15 minutes. Turn and cook another 10 minutes.  Wings should be sizzling hot and golden with some blackening.

Remove wings from grill and toss in Hoisin/Sriracha sauce.

Return wings to direct side of grill and cook briefly, about 1 minute per side. Just long enough to caramelize the sauce and mark the wings.

Wings 001

Move wings to serving plate and garnish with green onions and sesame seeds.

Serves 4 to 6 as an appetizer.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Best Wings Ever

  1. griffinsgrub says:

    Love me some wings and always looking for a new recipe. nicely done.

Leave a Reply

