Sweet Melon Pickles #2

The Pickled Sweet Melons I made the other night turned out pretty good.  Toasting the cinnamon and star anise really brought out the flavor.  You get a lot of taste for very little spice if you toast them before using them.

Melons 010

I started with this recipe.  I made two changes. I cubed the melon rather than using a melon baller.  I thought the sweet melons I had were too small to use the baller. There would have been a lot of waste.  Cubing them worked fine, but I should have made bigger cubes.  I did 1/4″ cubes.  1/2″ would have been better.

Also, the recipe calls for rice wine and champagne vinegar.  I’d used all my rice wine vinegar making 5 spice ribs and I didn’t have any champagne vinegar.  Since these were impromptu, I had to make due with what I had on hand.  I thought apple cider vinegar would taste strange so I chose white and balsamic.

Next time, I’ll plan ahead and use the rice wine and champagne. The balsamic vinegar tastes good but it overwhelms the subtle flavor of the melon.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

