Sweet Melon Pickles #1

My Chinese neighbor gave me a couple of squash she’d grown in her garden.  At least I thought they were squash.

This evening I thought I’d grill the squash to accompany the barbecued chicken I was making.  When I sliced them open, I was in for a surprise.  Instead of a squash, I found a melon, a slightly sweet, pear like melon.

Melons 007

Oh, ohh! This isn’t going to work at all. Time for Plan B.

I didn’t want them to go to waste (though this might be the Chinese equivalent of unloading the zucchini at the end of the season).

Melons 009

So I did what any reasonable person would do.  I pickled them.

Melons 010

How did they come out?  I have no idea.   We’ll have to wait until tomorrow to find out.

 

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

