Six Days with My Big Green Egg – Day 4

We had a power outage earlier today, just as I was sitting down to write today’s update.  By the time the power came back on, I had to leave for an evening event.  It’s getting late now, so just a quick update on Day 4.

Yesterday was Pork Belly day.  It was the first time I’d ever cooked Pork Belly (except for bacon, of course) and I chose a pretty complex recipe, Agave-Glazed, Grilled Pork Belly with Grilled Pineapple.  It was very good, but possibly not worth the 2 day cooking time and the cost of the pork belly.

Egg Day 5 005

The belly started with a 7 hour braising step.  I had to do that on Day 3, while I was smoking the pork butt.  That was a lot of pork cooking at once.

I braised it in the indoor oven (since the Egg was occupied) on a bed of chopped poblano, serrano and habanero chiles with a cup of agave nectar and some water.

Egg Day Two RIbs 032

After 2 hours the whole kitchen smelled like New Mexico.  The chiles and the pork smelled great.

More Day 3 003

After the braising was finished it was into the fridge to rest over night, then into the Egg to finish it.

Egg Day 5 002

After an hour at 250, turning once or twice the belly was hot through, charred and crispy. Then I just had to grill the pineapple and server.

Egg Day 5 003

As I said above, it tasted great. The thing is though, it was really just like an amazing piece of pulled pork.  It had the same taste and texture.  I could have gotten the same effect, easier and cheaper, by smoking another pork butt and glazing it the chile/agave sauce. I also would have gotten a lot more meat using a butt.  That 2 lb. pork belly barely yielded enough meat to serve 4.

Egg Day 5 005

I might try this recipe again using ribs.  If I try belly again, it will be to make my own bacon.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Days with My Big Green Egg – Day 4

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I was attracted to the grilled pineapple in your picture 🙂 But I’m sure the pork was yummy too. I love this kind of cooking

Leave a Reply

