Six Days with My Big Green Egg – Leftovers Interlude

Just 2 1/2 days into my 6 days with my new Big Green Egg and leftovers are becoming a problem.  The fridge is already full of meats marinading, ingredients for side dishes and Monday’s and Tuesday’s leftovers.

I had to do something, so something I did.

Egg Day Two RIbs 035

I took Monday’s steak and Tuesday’s stir fried vegetables, added coconut oil, red curry paste and Apinya Thai-style chile-garlic hot sauce* and created a really nice soup.

Here’s the approximate recipe.  I took most of it from the Stir Fry Vegetable recipe in the BGE cookbook.  But since it was just stir fry, I took a lot of liberties none of which I wrote down.

To make stir fried vegetables:

3 lemons

1 orange

1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

1/2 cup soy sauce

4 teaspoons red curry paste

1/4 cup sesame seed oil

1 cup sliced shallots

2 tablespoons fresh grated ginger

2 tablespoons minced garlic

1 large red bell pepper, julienned

2 cups snow peas

4 cups Napa cabbage, julienned

2 cups carrots, julienned

2 cups zucchini, julienned

4 cups bean sprouts

2 bunches scallions, whites and greens cut on the diagonal 1/4″ thick

1 cup fresh basil, roughly chopped

1 cup fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

In a small bowl, juice the lemons and orange.  Add rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and red curry paste.  Set aside.

Heat a large wok to almost smoking. Add sesame oil.  Spread oil around wok, then add shallots, ginger, garlic, red bell pepper and snow peas.  Saute for a minute, stirring constantly.

Add cabbage, carrots, zucchini, bean sprouts, scallions and reserved citrus juice mixture.  Saute for one to two minutes, stirring constantly, until vegetables are tender.

Add basil and cilantro. Serve with rice.

To make soup:

Leftover stir fried vegetables – about 1 quart, with liquid from cooking

Leftover steak, pork, chicken or other meat, cut in 1/4″ cubes.

4 tablespoons coconut oil

2 tablespoons Thai style chile-garlic sauce, like Apinya Thai chile sauce

1 tablespoon red curry paste

Put leftover stir fried vegetables in a large stock pot.  Add  liquid (chicken stock, vegetable stock, bouillon, or just water) as needed.  Add meat,  coconut oil,  Thai-style chile sauce and red curry paste.

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer. Simmer 5 to 10 minutes.

For just throwing leftovers together, I was really happy with this soup.  The citrus from the lemons and orange combined with the coconut oil, hot sauce and curry paste to make an excellent broth.  The vegetables were still a bit crisp from stir frying and added a nice texture to the soup.  I’ll do this again, next time I have left over stir fry.

* Apinya is a new hot sauce company based in Herndon, VA.  It’s run by a husband/wife team. I met them at the Herndon Festival in June.  The wife is Thai. The husband traveled the world, learning to cook anything he stumbled across.  They’re nice people and they make a good product.

About fzinger

I read and I write. I read a lot and I write when I can.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

